top of page
  • clarkbarayuga

Back To C + NTP (Week of 10/24)

Updated: Nov 15, 2022

Last week I was talking about how I was going to use MicroPython to get the time and write the schedules in. While continuing my research this week it was difficult at first to be able to get the current date time because of the lack of differentiation in guides between Python and MicroPython. So at first I tried to use a separate Real Time Clock (RTC).

RTC PCF8523 that I tried to use

I was having trouble getting this to work in Python so I made the switch to get the time from a Network Time Protocol (NTP) instead in C.

Basically what happens

I had the code in C and was able to get the time from an NTP server. That worked well.

The magic words

The Feather Huzzah was not getting code after I setup some more LEDs on my breadboard and I couldn't figure out why. My teacher told me that the LEDs I was using, were drawing too much current so I had to use higher strength resistors. I could determine that using Ohm's law so I did a quick sketch and some math to figure it out just to be on the safe side.

The magic numbers

The old code I had built was written in C so now my goal is to migrate as much old code into this new code so that I can get the schedules triggering with the new Feather Huzzah.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page