top of page
  • clarkbarayuga

Brass Ring Turning (Week of 9/27)

Updated: Nov 2, 2022

It was a long weekend this past week so we started on Tuesday. This week I wanted to work on turning a brass ring with the brass stock that we got. Our plan was to use this lathe that we have in the machine shop.

Lathe that I turned the ring on

I was also teaching some other students how to use the lathe while I did this. My teacher outlined the process for how I would turn the ring on the whiteboard.

1) Face the stock to get a smooth surface

2) Face the outside of the stock until I would reach my desired outer diameter

3) Use the parting bit and go in just a little bit more than the inner diameter

4) Drill into the stock from in increasing diameter bit sizes until I reach the desired inner diameter and the ring falls off


Rough dimensions of the ring

Final product

Now I will resume my work on the feather huzzah

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page