top of page
  • clarkbarayuga

Major Stoplight Progress (Week of 11/14)

The stoplight is almost finished but some steps must be accomplished first before I can fully say it is complete. This week I made major progress on taking those steps to bring this project closer to completion. One of those steps included being able to control the stoplight online. In order to change which schedule the stoplight would follow I needed to be able to change the variables online using the Adafruit IO Dashboard. I created some new code for the changeable variables and I got to work testing if I was able to change the their value. I started by creating my own dashboard which controlled the value of the variable from the internet.

Dashboard with sliders and buttons to set value of variables

Once I got that to work I implemented the rest of the code from the Network Time Protocol (NTP) work I had done a couple of weeks ago.

Combined code to change schedules with NTP

Once I got that working I got to work on one of the next steps: Making my a PCB. Breaking that task down I needed to start working on working out how the power supply situation would work. An efficient way to achieve this was using a 5V power adapter then converting it into 3.3V for the Huzzah.

5V power adapter that I will use for my PCB

In order to convert the voltage I will be using the LD33V power regulator.


LD33V power regulator so I can also have 3.3V along with 5V

In order to ensure this works properly I have to set up this circuit along with the power regulator.

Circuit I drew so that LD33V works properly

I had to solder on a barrel jack so that I would be able to power my board with the power adapter.

How the barrel jack fits together once I solder on the adapter

Once I soldered the adapter on here's how the circuit is currently powered. It works so now I do not need to use the bench supply

Working breadboard version with the power adapter instead of bench supply

Now I need to add the voltage regulator and then I can start working on modelling my PCB with all the components. Eventually the Feather will be powered with this lipoly battery connector that I took from a battery.

This is the battery I took the connector from

No more battery

That is all please leave a like comment and subscribe. I'll see you in the next one.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page