top of page
  • clarkbarayuga

Turner's Cube (Week of 9/12)

Updated: Dec 5, 2022

The start of this week I worked in the machine shop using the Prototrak K3 to make my turner's cube.

First I cut out a piece of stock to roughly 1.5 inches. I faced 1 side of the cube, flipped it over, then machined 1 length of the cube to 1 inch exactly.

Fly cutting to smooth the side

Wider fly cutter shot

Once I did that for the whole cube, I programmed 2 circular pockets into the cube using the program on the Prototrak. I added a quick video of the 1st pocket on one of the sides.

Once I added the pockets to all 6 sides, I had my turner's cube.

Unsanded product


I have a diagram of a different sized cube but it is very similar to the one I followed to make my cube. The difference between the diagram and mine is that I went down .15" each pocket, my first pocket diameter was 0.8", and the second one was 0.3".


Dimension sheet for the turner cube

Machining is a very time intensive process because of how long it takes to set up and make sure everything is exactly where it should be to have the final product. Although this is the main thing I worked on and completed, I also continued my research on getting the HUZZAH functional for the stoplight.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page