top of page
  • clarkbarayuga

Feeder Break (Week of 1/19)

I was sick for most of last week so I didn't get to update. Now we're back two weeks later and this is what happened.

Stoplight connected to breadboard version of PCB

I ran into some problems with my PCB and it wouldn't get the relay to make a clicking noise when I ran the code. So I recreated the entire PCB onto a breadboard and tried to diagnose the difference between the PCB, breadboard, and schematic. It took a bit of trial and error to recreate fully. I then pivoted into helping fix the fish feeder in biotech that students in previous years made.

Inside the fish feeder

Optical encoder inside fish feeder

This is basically what it is. It's used to determine how many revolutions so the feeder knows how many grams of food to feed.

The actual problem wasn't with any of this. The auger that rotates in the tube broke. I was going to try to make a metal version on the lathe but ended up just epoxying the two broken pieces back together.

We returned the feeder back up to biotech this week. There's a machining project I want to do but the work on the Stoplight is very close to being done. I just need to closely compare the differences between the PCB, breadboard, and schematic and eventually recreate it and get it running off of that new PCB.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page