top of page
  • clarkbarayuga

New Chip (Week of 10/10)

Updated: Nov 2, 2022

Even shorter week this week with Monday and Wednesday off but still added work to my stoplight project. In order to control the high voltage of the Stoplight I have been using a 4-module relay driven by the microcontroller I was using at the time (Arduino Uno). Arduino Uno logic runs at 5V which is able to be used as an input voltage for the relay directly. The problem with the new microcontroller is it's logic runs at 3.3V and isn't sufficient to run to the relay as an input directly. So in order to work around this I have to input this new high voltage Darlington transistor array chip, the ULN2803. I got some schematics down on my notebook.

Schematics drawn in notebook

My work for next week is to continue implementing the rest of the inputs using the ULN2803 so that I can control the actual stoplight lights directly from the Adafruit internet dashboard.

ULN2803 in a breadboard

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page