top of page
  • clarkbarayuga

Print PCB (Week of 12/5)

I didn't end up printing the goggle piece from last week but I got my PCB printed out in this layout.

The layout of the PCB with traces in Fusion 360

We ran into a couple of problems with the PCB milling machine, so I got it printed on Tuesday.

PCB being cut

PCB being cut #2


Feather PCB cut

Before soldering all the components, I realized that if I wanted this PCB to last the oxidization of the copper would somehow have to be prevented, so I asked my teachers how to do this. The solution is a solder mask but we had not done this before. We had to go through a different process and follow this guide from Bantam.

Getting the SVG file was a difficult process because the software was outdated and couldn't run the programs needed to get the file the way the guide said. Eventually, after trial and error, we got it to work and I cut out just the pads and traces for the first step.

Just the pads and traces for the board with the solder mask

We then added some solder mask resin on top of the board in between two sheets of clear acetate. This would allow us to spread the solder mask resin.


Applying the solder mask resin

Solder mask resin applied

We then had to cure it using UV rays and we just so happened to have a nail UV light at our convenience for this operation.

Resin being cured by UV in the nail UV light

I didn't know how long it would take so I just left it there for about 2-3 minutes total.

I need it to harden so I can start to mill the pad area, holes, and outline. My goal for next week is to get the components on and have this stoplight working as a final product.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page